Session J35: Liquids

11:15 AM–2:03 PM, Tuesday, February 28, 2012
Room: 107B

Sponsoring Unit: DCP
Chair: Donald Truhlar, University of Minnesota

Abstract ID: BAPS.2012.MAR.J35.8

Abstract: J35.00008 : Low-Energy Electron Induced Reactions in Condensed Methanol

12:39 PM–12:51 PM

Preview Abstract   MathJax On | Off     Abstract  


  Michael Boyer
    (Clark University)

  Mavis Boamah
    (Wellesley College)

  Kristal Chamberlain
    (Wellesley College)

  ChanMaye Myae Soe
    (Wellesley College)

  Andrew Bass
    (Universite de Sherbrooke)

  Leon Sanche
    (Universite de Sherbrooke)

  Christopher Arumainayagam
    (Wellesley College)

We investigate the dynamics of low-energy electron-induced reactions in condensed thin films of methanol (CH$_3$OH) through electron stimulated desorption (ESD) and post-irradiation temperature programmed desorption (TPD) experiments. ESD experiments indicate that the anions which desorb from the methanol thin film during electron irradiation are predominantly formed through the dissociation of temporary negative ions formed by electron capture by methanol molecules, a process known as dissociative electron attachment (DEA). However, based on investigation of reaction products remaining in the methanol thin film post-irradiation through TPD experiments, DEA is not the obvious primary mechanism by which methoxymethanol (CH$_3$OCH$_2$OH) and ethylene glycol (HOCH$_2$CH$_2$OH) are formed. Evidence indicates formation of these molecules may be driven by both DEA and electron impact excitation.

To cite this abstract, use the following reference: